A nation proud of itself

What came to my mind today is how determined I am and have been for a while, about changing my life and those of others not just from where I’m from, but even globally. 

I understand that we all have some kind of power within us to change someone else while we need the change ourselves. 

You can still feel like you haven’t achieved much with even a matric or highschool qualification. That alone can give you enough reason to change someone else’s life. 

This morning I saw this young girl, still in primary school, wearing her school uniform and probably just 12 years old. It was already 9:30 and there was no way she could still be going to school. 

She only lives with her father and sisters. 

In my understanding, it could be the lack of guidance that she needed, at that volatile age of puberty, she must be missing some motherly love and motivation. 

Where we come from, we all had to be strong to be where we are currently. Poverty is no excuse for not trying to make your life better. 

I tried talking to her, without accusing her of anything. Tried to remember my own teenage days. I was quite a handfull, but I never threw my dreams away. 

We see a lot of drop outs and young kids who have already given up because of the situation that we live in, something that I wish I could change. 

I could never change the history of apartheid  that put us in this position, maybe I could but I’m not strong enough at this point in time to change the political situation in my country. But I can reach out to the young ones and give them some kind of hope. Some inspiration to shift their despaired mindsets. 

While those at the top fight about who could be the next president, people down here are affected in different ways. 

They feel leftout and disregarded,so many of my mates would rather smoke the tshooff drug than worry about a state that doesnt seem will ever change. We are poor and we need some change. We need finances to finish off school, many families still depend on social government grants to go through the month. We need a generation of believers and a nation that is proud of itself. 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Let’s hope for a better world for everyone

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Siphosetu says:

      We have to stand together and help change the world. We all can do our part.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. abostar says:

    And begins with you, sometimes we just stand idling infront of a situation instead of landing a helping hand to those in need. We often have a mindset that says how can we help out others while we are also in need of help *sigh* thanks for reminding us that it all start with one’s self. πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ‘

    Like

    1. Siphosetu says:

      Im happy that you liked this post friend, yes, one doesn’t have to be wealthy to help others, if you see a need and think you can help, do just that because that is where true happiness comes from.

      Like

  3. Diana says:

    This is so thought-provoking. I could say the same about Kenya. I can’t even talk about the current situation because of how bad it is. What is even sadder is the fact that people seem to have accepted the negativity. However, as you said, perhaps we can do something and make an impact on the future generations. Great post!

    Like

    1. Siphosetu says:

      Thank you Diana. I must say, I love your work. If there are any other African bloggers you follow, please do not hesitate letting me know of them. I would love to follow more African writers because I need something that I could relate to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

